Steve Smith, Andre Johnson headline 2022 Professional Soccer Corridor of Fame first-time nominees

Since its inaugural 1963 class, the Professional Soccer Corridor of Fame has inducted 346 members into Canton, Ohio, together with the eight most up-to-date members of the category of 2021.

The following group of hopefuls vying for a bust embody 122 nominees from the Professional Soccer Corridor of Fame’s preliminary listing, none of whom has performed a sport throughout the final 5 years.

MORE: Bears title Fields Week 3 starter

That group will ultimately get whittled all the way down to 25 semifinalists in November, and 15 finalists in January, earlier than the choice committee finally makes its alternative on enshrinement.

Beneath are the listing of first-time nominees, returning finalists and the remainder of the sphere of nominees.

First-time 2022 Professional Soccer Corridor of Fame nominees

Title Place Groups
Anquan Boldin Broad receiver Cardinals, Ravens, 49ers, Lions
Devin Hester Broad receiver/Return specialist Bears, Falcons, Ravens
Andre Johnson Broad receiver Texans, Colts, Titans
Steve Smith Broad receiver Panthers, Ravens
Jake Lengthy Offensive lineman Dolphins, Rams, Falcons, Vikings
Nick Mangold Offensive lineman Jets
Antonio Cromartie Defensive backs Chargers, Jets, Cardinals, Colts
Robert Mathis Defensive lineman Colts
Vince Wilfork Defensive lineman Patriots, Texans
DeMarcus Ware Linebacker Cowboys, Broncos

A minimum of one first-time nominee has been chosen for induction into the Corridor of Fame yearly since 2013, together with three — Calvin Johnson, Peyton Manning and Charles Woodson — final 12 months.

MORE: Antonio Brown heads to COVID listing

One other issue that would bode nicely for a number of the first-time nominees is that each the category of 2019 (Ed Reed, Tony Gonzalez, Champ Bailey) and 2018 (Ray Lewis, Randy Moss, Brian Urlacher) have every seen three individuals inducted, setting a precedent ought to certainly one of this 12 months’s first-timers develop into a finalist.

Returning finalists from 2021

Title Place Instances as Finalist
Torry Holt Broad receiver 3
Reggie Wayne Broad receiver 3
Tony Boselli Offensive sort out 6
Jared Allen Defensive finish 2
Richard Seymour Defensive sort out 4
Sam Mills Linebacker 3
Zach Thomas Linebacker 3
Ronde Barber Cornerback/Security 2
LeRoy Butler Security 3

Along with the ten first-time nominees, there are 9 returning finalists among the many listing of nominees seeking to be inducted this 12 months, plus coach finalist Dick Vermeil, senior finalist Cliff Department and contributor finalist Artwork McNally.

Final 12 months noticed John Lynch (eight-time finalist) and Alan Faneca (six-time finalist) lastly get inducted.

Mills’ potential induction will probably be performed posthumously; he, Boselli, Holt and Thomas are all members of the Faculty Soccer Corridor of Fame as nicely.

MORE: Week 3 betting information

Remaining Area of 2022 Professional Soccer Corridor of Fame Nominees

  • Quarterbacks: Randall Cunningham, Jake Delhomme, Boomer Esiason, Jeff Garcia, Dave Krieg, Donovan McNabb, Steve McNair
  • Operating Backs: Shaun Alexander, Mike Alstott (FB), Tiki Barber, Earnest Byner, Larry Facilities (FB), Corey Dillon, Eddie George, Priest Holmes, Steven Jackson, Jamal Lewis, Eric Metcalf, Lorenzo Neal (FB), Fred Taylor, Herschel Walker (additionally KR), Ricky Waters, Brian Westbrook
  • Broad Receivers: Troy Brown, Donald Driver, Henry Ellard (additionally PR), Joe Horn, Chad Johnson, Derrick Mason, Muhsin Muhammad, Andre Rison, Jimmy Smith, Rod Smith, Hines Ward, Wes Welker
  • Tight Ends: Dallas Clark, Ben Coates, Brent Jones, Heath Miller, Wesley Partitions
  • Offensive Linemen: Willie Anderson (T), Matt Birk (C), Lomas Brown (T), Ruben Brown (G), D’Brickashaw Ferguson (T), Kevin Glover (C/G), Jordan Gross (T), Olin Kreutz (C), Logan Mankins (G), Jesse Sapolu (C/G), Jeff Saturday (C), Chris Snee (G), Brian Waters (G), Richmond Webb (T), Erik Williams (T), Steve Wisniewski (G)
  • Defensive Linemen: John Abraham (DE additionally LB), La’Roi Glover (DT/NT), Casey Hampton (DT/NT), Leslie O’Neal (DE), Michael Dean Perry (DT/DE), Simeon Rice (DE), Justin Smith (DE), Neil Smith (DE), Greg Townsend (DE/LB/DT/NT), Justin Tuck (DE), Kevin Williams (DT), Bryant Younger (DT)
  • Linebackers: Cornelius Bennett, Lance Briggs, Tedy Bruschi, London Fletcher, Seth Joyner, Willie McGinest (additionally DE), Hardy Nickerson Sr., Takeo Spikes, Pat Swilling (additionally DE), Patrick Willis
  • Defensive Backs: Eric Allen (CB), Dre Bly (DB), Nick Collins (S), Merton Hanks (S), Rodney Harrison (S), Albert Lewis (CB), Tim McDonald (S), Allen Rossum (DB), Asante Samuel (CB), Bob Sanders (S), Charles Tillman (CB), Troy Vincent (CB), Adrian Wilson (S), Darren Woodson (S)
  • Punters/Kickers: Gary Anderson (Ok), Jeff Feagles (P), John Kasay (Ok), Sean Landeta (P), Ryan Longwell (Ok), Reggie Roby (P), Matt Turk (P)
  • Particular Groups: Josh Cribbs (KR/PR additionally WR), Mel Grey (PR/KR additionally WR), Brian Mitchell (KR/PR additionally RB), Steve Tasker (ST additionally WR)

Of the 122 nominees, 65 performed primarily offense, 46 performed primarily protection and 11 had been primarily particular teamers.

Leave a reply